About – ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023

ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023

Hit For Six!

The ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023, to be hosted by India, will be the 13th edition of the 50-over World Cup. India will be hosting the quadrennial tournament for the fourth time in its history, and the tournament is set to take place in 2023.


Ten teams will contest for the coveted trophy. The tournament will follow a similar format to the 2019 edition in England and Wales, with a round-robin stage followed by the knockouts. 

All 10 teams will compete against each other once in the round-robin stage. A victory earns the winning side two points in every match, while a no-result will mean the sides share a point each. 

The top four teams at the end of the round-robin stage will qualify for the semi-finals. The winners of the two subsequent semi-finals will contest in the final, where the champion will be crowned. 


The ICC Cricket World Cup Super League 2020-23  will be the main qualification pathway for the tournament. The top seven sides in the CWCSL table, along with India, who will qualify automatically as hosts, will gain direct entry into the tournament. 

The five remaining teams on the CWCSL table, the top three teams from ICC Cricket World Cup League 2 and the top two team teams from the 2023 World Cup Qualifier Play-off will then contest in the 2023 Cricket World Cup Qualifier, which will decide the final two teams to qualify for the World Cup.


The 2023 ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup will be the 13th edition of the tournament. The tournament first took place in 1975 in England. 

This will be the fourth time that India will be hosting the tournament and the first time that it will be the sole host. They previously co-hosted the tournament in 1987, 1996 and 2011. 

England are the defending champions heading into the tournament, having won the trophy on home soil in 2019 after defeating New Zealand in a thrilling final at Lord’s. 

Australia are the most successful team in the history of the Cricket World Cup, having won the tournament a record five times. West Indies and India have won the tournament twice, while England, Pakistan and Sri Lanka have each lifted the trophy once.

More News